Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Dawes Announce New Album, Hear The Lead Single Now

Clara Balzary

The grimly titled We're All Gonna Die from Dawes will drop on Sept. 16, and the list of collaborators is mighty impressive. Brittany Howard of The Alabama Shakes, Jim James of My Morning Jacket and Holly Laessig and Jess Wolfe of Lucius all appear on the album.

Dawes whet fans' appetites for We're All Gonna Die on Wednesday by sharing a new song, the spare but groovy earworm "When The Tequila Runs Out."

In a prepared statement, Dawes guitarist Taylor Goldsmith says the album was written and recorded very quickly. "In that sense I feel like there was a consistency in mood and outlook our other records don't have. Pretty much every song on this record explores a difficult situation and tries to find a way to find the good in it, or at least remind yourself that it's not always that big of a deal. After all, as scary as it is, we are all gonna die."

We're All Gonna Die comes on the heels of the band's 2015 LP, All Your Favorite Bands.

Copyright 2021 NPR. To see more, visit

Robin Hilton is a producer and co-host of the popular NPR Music show All Songs Considered.